Governmental - Public Affairs

Alert and inform State and Federal Legislators on key economic development issues affecting the 16 county region.

Summary of Recent Committee Activities:

The Governmental Affairs and Public Relations Committee worked on the annual meeting and legislative forum. The Committee responded to federal and state updates and correspondence. The Committee sent support letters affecting federal, state and regional issues. The Committee forwarded legislative news releases throughout the region from Governor Kasich, Senators Brown and Portman and also Congressmen Johnson and Gibbs to EODA members.
Co-Chair Chris Abbuhl attended the Appalachian Regional Commission DC meeting and lent support to the Local Development Districts. Committee members were part of proposed severance tax discus-sions. The committee co-hosted a legislative briefing in Zanesville with the County Commissioners Association of Ohio and regional legislators.
The Governmental Affairs Committee led a discussion on Public Defender reimbursement, severance tax and issues that affect the region. In October, EODA held an informational forum/debate with one candidate for governor ,and two Congressional candidates addressing the Forum. EODA members were able to ask candidates questions on economic development issues.
Summary of Proposed Committee Activities:
*The committee will continue to keep both federal and state legislators informed on key economic development issues.
*Encourage board members to promote memberships in respective counties
 * Plan October Forum
Greg DiDonato retired OMEGA Director 740-439-4471
Chris Abbuhl Tuscarawas Co. Commissioner 330-365-3240
John Bates Muskingum Co. Commissioner 740-455-7100
Norm Blanchard Guernsey Co. CIC 740-432-1881
Mike Calevski  Congressman Space Rep. 740-452-6338
Tricia DiFranco Gov. Office Faith Based Initiative 614-728-9501
Greg DiDonato OMEGA Director 740-439-4471
Lisa Duvall Governor Rep. Region 10 740-439-2263
Darnita Bradley Columbia Gas 614-460-4615
Misty Casto Buckeye Hills-HVRDD Director 740-374-9436
Harry Eadon Tuscarawas Co. Port Authority 330-602-4422
Sandy Chenal Crossroads R C & D Director 330-339-9317
Fred Deel GOA Director 614-644-9228
Chris Gagin Congressman Wilson Rep 740-633-5705
Christa Mash Governor Rep. Region 11 740-373-5150
Dennis Mingyar Buckeye Power 614-430-7876
Paul Prater AEP 740-622-7984
Jim Schoch EODA Executive Director 740-432-7902
Tom Scott Team Monroe 740-213-0455
B.J. Smith AT & T Ohio 740-454-3471
Tracy Stevens Dominion East Ohio 330-478-3104
Jeanne Wilson Senator Brown Rep 740-251-3284